How to Grow Microgreens

My first growing project at Bumble Beets Farm was learning the art of Microgreens. Like Kale, Microgreens are a new fad food. Basically they are just baby plants and surprisingly they have a huge punch of flavor and are a great addition to salads, soups, sandwiches and anything else really. They are packed full of flavor and nutrients, and are very simple to grow all year long. All you need is a container with a lid, soil, seeds, light and water.

I was given two types of seeds: Greek Cress and Mustard Tatsoi. With my science background, I enjoyed describing my materials and methodology, and making it as accurate as possible. After leveling off the soil, I divided the tray into two sections and figured out the amount of seeds needed from the back of the package and accounting for my bigger surface area. haha. I was having way too much fun with the calculations. After moistening the soil I evenly sprinkled the seed across the area, misted them, put on the cover to keep in the moisture and put them in a location with indirect sunlight. Then the waiting game.

It took four days for the Greek Cress to sprout with the Mustard Tatsoi a few days behind. After twelve days they were ready to harvest. They pack a lot of flavor for such a little plant and I think I am ready for a larger scale. I would highly recommend trying this yourself. As long as you do not let the seedlings dry out or get moldy, it is very easy.

http://www.bumblebeetsfarm.ca/

Leave a comment